What I’m Doing (despite whatever Twitter says)

23 Jul

There are three goals I have set myself for the end of this summer. Yes, it is fairly late to be mentioning these, and yes, I have already been working at them for some time now, but I think it’s worth putting them out there. Without further ado:

  1. Become ambidextrous.
  2. Learn Esperanto.
  3. Figure out my meaning in life.

All of these require explanation.

  1. This was a goal I set for myself when I learned of all the benefits. It is simply and purely a leisure. Priority: Third. Interest: Second. Achievability: Second.
  2. This goal was set immediately when I first heard of the language and all that it meant. I am now a part of the Esperanto movement and I would encourage you to learn the language, or at least learn of it. Priority: Second. Interest: First. Achievability: First.
  3. I suppose this is the ultimate goal for everyone, but it came into light this year especially. I know nobody can truly solve it, but for me, I came close late June (I can tell you about it if you wish) Priority: First. Interest: Third. Achievability: Third.

Since the beginning of the summer (when I started, more or less) I have progressed to leciono ses of the full ten (though I recommend starting here), am currently eating with my nondominant hand, and have written two fairly long pieces on why I exist and how I feel about it.

I would rate my progress at six and one-third out of ten.

What are you guys doing? Please send a link over or just link me in the post so I can use the trackback. Thanks!

11 Responses to “What I’m Doing (despite whatever Twitter says)”

  1. Bill Chapman 23/07/2008 at 17:17 #

    Gratulon pro via decido lerni Esperanton. Mi deziras al vi sukceson!

  2. S 23/07/2008 at 17:28 #

    Hi 😀

    Try typing exclusively with your non-dominant hand. Also, do you shave yet? Try shaving with that hand, too (if you don’t mind the cuts). 😛

    Esperanto is a fun language. Ever try Anglo-Saxon? There are 24 different noun cases, and pronunciation is pretty much impossible.

    This morning I woke up thinking about the TDI reunion. My parents don’t like the idea of having it this summer, but I will work on them.
    😀

  3. a student 23/07/2008 at 17:40 #

    @Bill – Dankon! Ĝi estis decido bona. 🙂

    @S – Typing with one hand doesn’t really make sense for me. How would that work?

    /a student

  4. S 23/07/2008 at 20:35 #

    Like you’re relearning how to type, but with your left hand as the dominant one.

  5. a student 23/07/2008 at 21:05 #

    @S – But typing doesn’t require one to use a dominant hand….

    /a student

  6. S 23/07/2008 at 23:01 #

    Okay, then think of yourself as a little kid typing with one finger.
    😀

  7. S 23/07/2008 at 23:01 #

    How do I change the picture beside my comments?

  8. Ulo 24/07/2008 at 03:40 #

    @s You need a Gravatar: http://en.gravatar.com/

    @a student: How about typing with a Dvorak keyboard?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dvorak_Simplified_Keyboard

  9. Lindsea 27/07/2008 at 04:58 #

    Hey!

    Check out Frankl’s “Man’s Search for Meaning.” It’s a really great foundation for searching for you meaning.

    Also, “No Exit” by Sartre, Kierkegaard, “Cat’s Cradle” by Vonnegut, Orwell’s essays, and very important is Plato’s Allegory of the Cave.

    If you want to have a quick recorded skype discussion sometime late August to discuss what you’ve found, let me know!

  10. a student 27/07/2008 at 05:35 #

    Already intensely studied the Allegory.

    But honestly, personally I prefer contemplating it myself rather than taking others’ ideas. Although I naturally do that, it’s nice to not be doing it consciously.

    I once [technically] reinvented Platonism and Descartianism all by myself just by thinking about life (because I didn’t know they existed (or, in Plato’s case, what their philosophies were)). The piece in question is actually quite interesting if you’d like to give it a read.

    What’s this about Skype?

    /a student

Leave a Reply

