My First Foray Into Politics

12 Aug

… Rather unnerving.

Anyway, I’m sorry I haven’t been writing. No excuses, I know, but here are mine: My dad found out he had appendicitis, which you may have heard about through the twitterverse, and I went on vacation (then he had an abscess, scared the hell out of me getting out of the car by nearly crying, and is spending the night in the emergency room). For all you worriers: He’s… okay (I can’t stand to see him in that much pain, it’s horrible). I’m fairly sure he’ll pull out just fine.

Instead of wallowing further, I’m going to try to write this post now before it gets too late early (oops, too late early to hope for that).

So, what caught my eye was a tweet from Gary Stager. Being the misinformed sadly uneducated liberal I [think I] am, I followed the link, expecting juicy gossip to spread. Okay, true, there was juicy gossip, but I’m not spreading it in the way I thought I would.

The gist of the article: McCain recently gave a speech concerning the current Georgia situation, and used some words, phrases, sentences, and/or paragraphs remarkably like those on the Wikipedia article for the country. What they’re trying to say is that he plagiarized, and it looks as if that’s true, but the comments tell the real story.

The comments say two things to me:

  1. That Obama supporters in general OR just the supporters that ended up following that story are extremely aggressive
  2. That McCain supporters are actually quite good at refuting accusations.

I’m not going to say any more because I’ve probably already damned myself to a lifetime of criticism by even attempting to intelligently discuss politics, but see for yourself. Actually quite interesting.

2 Responses to “My First Foray Into Politics”

  1. NonSequitur 12/08/2008 at 19:36 #

    I’m REALLY sorry about your dad. I can’t even imagine…anyway, I feel really bad for you. Let me know when he’s recovered. 😉

    Nice foraying!! The news was rather funny, too. I mean, if you’re going to plagiarize, at least pick a source a little more anonymous than WIKIPEDIA!!!

  2. qwertygirl890123 19/08/2008 at 18:43 #

    I really hope your dad is okay, and gets better fast (They thought my sister had appendicitis once, and I was pretty unresponsive for a few hours until the test results came back negative…)

    Funny, how people think they can get away with these things when everything they say is being analyzed over and over again…

Leave a Reply

