Sticks Of A Different Sort

31 Aug

This morning I had a thought, sparked by a discussion yesterday with my dad in the car and Chris Faulkner‘s recent tweet.

The conversation went something like this:

Dad: Oh, look.

Me: What?

Dad: Sixteen gigs for thirty-five bucks. Seems like a good deal to me.

Silence for a while.

Me: Wait, no. One-forty… one eighty… Thirty-five… I saw a Lacie drive… Five hundred gigs for around one eighty. That doesn’t add up.

Dad: Well, yeah, but I assume the cost is so high, relatively, because it’s portable. You’re paying for the convenience.

Essentially, my reply tweet summed my thought up well. Do we really need to make that distinction? Is it that much more convenient? I’ll take a bigger drive for less, I think. Any file I’m going to need a flash drive for is going to be small, anyway, so I’ll stick with my little 1 GB sticks (That luckily enough, I got for free.).

Thoughts?

Edit: Apparently they don’t even manufacture 1 GB models anymore. I have an antique.

… Sweet.

One Response to “Sticks Of A Different Sort”

  1. Em 03/09/2009 at 00:19 #

    Ooh! I have a 1 GB too! I wonder how much they go for on “Antiques Roadshow.”

    My dad bought these External hard drives last year, and 3 months later they dropped about $150.

    Oh, well. You can never have too much memory. (Of anything, really.)

Leave a Reply

