‘Til We See The Sudden Light

28 Mar

I discount how much I love popular dance music at times… It’s a strange contrast, when I can say definitively that my favourite artist is Carbon Leaf, and I greatly enjoy Ani and T&S and TCE… Not to mention Wagner and Vivaldi. …You know, my music taste really is just eclectic – Owl City and Paramore start showing up, and I love OK Go and Nightwish, but then Smash Mouth and AC/DC are vying for dominance, and then there was that Reel Big Fish craze, and at times all I really want to listen to is Spanish pop…

Back to the point. One thing you do not usually find in my library is popular [modern] dance. Plenty of dance, yes, but this is from decades past, where generally dancing was the theme of the lyrics, not getting drunk and having sex. (Admittedly on a dance floor, but still.) This is explicable. I don’t like it. I don’t enjoy listening to it. A lot of times, it really makes me sick. Autotuning is great for making fun of the news, but there is a line, and mainstream dance music (in America, anyway) has crossed it. And possibly doubled back to urinate in the spot where it used to be before it spontaneously combusted from so much abuse.

There’s something about dancing, though, that makes it okay. I’ve been to a handful of raves, and a lot of dances, and you know what they play there. It’s all this stuff. And I don’t know exactly why… But I can enjoy it.

Yesterday. I was getting ready to go to Joseph, and decided I wanted to listen to something in the shower. So I turned my speakers all the way up and played this.

Listen to that. (Not too much; your ears might bleed.) That’s horrible. So maybe this whole idea is a lot less explicable than I thought, because I was dancing all the same. I liked it.

Maybe this is just part of a wish that the world would be all about music and dance and art in general.

6 Responses to “‘Til We See The Sudden Light”

  1. Sauce 28/03/2010 at 18:38 #

    O.o you were dancing in the shower?

    That’s really unsafe.

    It annoys me when people just group all popular music together. To be honest, there are a lot of songs that are played on the radio that are actually really good. They have lovely and sweet lyrics and good beats and are just good. Not all of the “rap” is crap and not all popular dance is about sex.
    And half the time, if you listen to the lyrics, the songs are not about sex, they’re very nice.

  2. a student 28/03/2010 at 18:41 #

    How so? I dance in the shower all the time! It’s not slippery or anything, if that’s what you mean.

    Examples?

  3. Sauce 28/03/2010 at 18:47 #

    So I was recently introduced to “On the Brightside” by Never Shout Never. I think you’d love it.

    Kiss me through the phone (Soulja’ boy)
    Family Matters (Kanye West)
    Gone Going (Black Eyed Peas)
    Stronger (if you listen to the lyrics of the remix)
    Whatcha’ Say (I think that’s what it’s called)
    Replay (so cute)

    There are others, once I charge my Ipod I’ll go through and find some more. To be honest, now that I have my ipod I don’t really listen to the radio as much.

  4. Isn´t it “til we see the sun light”?

    Also, I used this theme too…

Leave a Reply

