This Is It

20 Jul

This is for those of you who don’t know.

The Uberman is a sleep schedule designed to maximise efficiency and the number of hours in the day. Instead of sleeping for eight to ten hours of the twenty-four hour day in one large block (‘monophasic’ sleep), the Uberman breaks your sleep up into six twenty- to thirty-minute naps spaced every four hours (‘polyphasic’ sleep).

The sleep deprivation of the initial four to seven days forces your body to adapt. Soon, immediately after you begin to nap, your body goes directly into REM sleep – the most restful of all the sleep cycles. Within about two weeks (results vary, but two weeks would be the maximum), your body has fully adjusted, and as empirical evidence shows, you actually become more rested and more aware than you were before, sleeping monophasically.

There are other cool effects, too. Because REM is not only the most restful state but also the one in which dreams occur, Uberman practitioners report having more dreams, remembering them better, and a having higher percentage of lucid dreams. Another fun effect is that after switching back to monophasic sleep, it appears that your body retains its ability to sleep polyphasically- that is, REM sleep comes a lot easier even on the monophasic cycle, and napping to quickly regain energy is a breeze. Other lasting effects are the ones on dreams. (Because I rarely remember my dreams, this is one I’m particularly looking forward to.)

As for negative effects, the biggest one for me would be the impact on my social life. Since you’re only awake for about three and a half-hour blocks, you have to plan on doing things in that amount of time and that amount of time only. If you skip naps, you will crash harder than if you skip sleep on the monophasic schedule- much harder. Going along with this, you also have to adjust your schedule to fit around sleeping, which makes this impractical for school… Although, if everything works out perfectly, I could theoretically nap at lunchtime and have a nap on either end of school.

The hardest part of this is going to be the adjustment period. I feel that I have enough self-will to make it through (okay, along with an alarm clock on a different floor and a great watch, too), but the task will still be herculean. I’ll be documenting the process… Pretty loosely, especially as time goes on (considering my record), but I might blog more than normal. This will most likely be because I have nothing to do with my time. 😛

Anyway, thanks for reading this if you did, and thanks for supporting me if you will.

6 Responses to “This Is It”

  1. nonnie 20/07/2010 at 19:54 #

    The one caveat might be boredom. What are you going to do with so much time?

    • a student 20/07/2010 at 20:07 #

      I’ve always gotten by in that respect. I’m sure I’ll have no trouble filling the time; I just need to focus on filling it productively.

      • circe5 21/07/2010 at 11:07 #

        This is an interesting idea. I respect your self-control and will to do this.

        Good luck, especially through the first few weeks, (which will be very difficult, I’m guessing.)
        The meditation seems like a good idea to me. Getting your brain to quickly calm down to the point of being able to sleep is understandably hard. Meditation will help, especially if you do it before every nap. That’s my theory anyway.

        Have fun with this, and again, good luck.

  2. Zsa 21/07/2010 at 09:47 #

    I still worry about you.

  3. Sauce 21/07/2010 at 19:04 #

    so when do you plan on eating, if you´re sleeping during lunch?

    :\

Leave a Reply

