Uberman Log, Day Three

24 Jul

13. Nap one: 4/10. Went surprisingly well. If you’ve seen the last post, you know how it went- the only reason the rating is so low, really, is that I did feel really horrible waking up from it.

Cycle one: 5/10. This was cut short by the fact that I extended my nap, which I don’t feel guilty about having done; I needed the sleep and I needed more of it than I was likely to get within a half-hour period. All in all, this cycle wasn’t bad. Though I hadn’t had breakfast or any nourishment, I went out for a run in the last hour, which made me feel horrible and bottomless-pit-like. I’m sure when I go for breakfast- lunch- when I go for food, I’m going to really EAT. Anyway, when I got back, I did some yoga and let the dogs out and then made my way to bed just about right on time.

14. Nap two: 5/10. I really feel bad about rating a nap like that so low. I fell asleep really well, even with two fans running (one to cool down the room, and another I turned on eventually to more quickly cool down me). Waking up was tough, but luckily not for the reason I thought of just as I was drifting off (that the fans would block the noise)- it was just tough because it was waking up and my body didn’t like that.

Cycle two: 6/10. Except for when I was waking up. I’m sort of excited- if waking up is becoming the hardest part of all of this, I feel like I’m finally doing something right! Right? Sounds right to me, anyway…. Anyway. I had an egg salad sandwich and some spicy thai chips for lunch… Delicious. It burns my mouth. I don’t know if I’ve ever liked spicy food this much. Anyway, I barely got anything done. Cooled down my room a little more with the fan, but eventually turned it off. … You don’t really want to know the myriad details of my humdrum life, do you? Moving on. 😛

15. Nap three: 7/10. Midday and nap four have always been the worst times to sleep for me, but I’ll just leave it at this: I managed this one. I prepared and relaxed (and was still exhausted) and took my time and I slept. Satisfying.

Cycle three: 5/10. Oop ack. I feel guilty. I did nothing but talk to people, rewatch AVPS, eat lemon squares, and surf the web. Next cycle needs PRODUCTIVITY. … After a nap. … No, really. I’m going to go nap now and then be productive.

16. Nap four: 5/10. Receding into the depths of a ‘bad’ nap… Only because when I woke up and realised I had plenty of time left, I couldn’t get back to sleep. I dozed for a while, though, which is something I’ve been craving, so that’s good. I think it also might be positive that I woke up so… Solidly. We shall see.

Cycle four: 5/10. I broke the [admittedly very loose] rules and had a bratwurst… I think it was worth it, though; those things are delicious and I only just found that out. Plus also, it was covered with onions and peppers and I had a ton of sautéed zucchini on the side. Now I’m off to clean the bathroom, which is something productive. (See?)

17. Nap five: 6/10. It was okay in and of itself, but the fact that it was pushed back an hour made me feel really naughty. I turned off my alarm and forgot about the time afterward, and when I looked up, it was almost an hour past when I was supposed to have been sleeping. I tell myself this is a good thing, though, because I have sign language class on Sundays- at eight. Eight also being when I nap.

Cycle five: 5/10. Average. Pretty low-key. I didn’t do much. End of story.

18. Nap six: 2/10. Guh. No sleep. Waking wasn’t so hard, but only because of that. End of story. The next cycle had better be good to make up for this…

Cycle six: 6/10. I got ravenously hungry near the end… I think that that might become a regular thing, because it’s happened several nights in a row now. I had some fantastic egg salad last night. I think I might grab some fruit later. (This never happened, resulting in the hunger continuing to ravage my insides for the rest of the night. And most of the next day.)

More notes: As I’m starting to learn more about this, it’s making more and more logical sense; I can’t fall asleep properly in a half hour. Perhaps when I do get this working reliably, I can try shortening the time, but for now I’m going to need closer to fifty minutes. Twenty to wind down.

It might be interesting to know that when I was at my most sleep-deprived – right when I woke up from the second nap – I was also coldest. I’d assume this has something to do with the fact that I had two fans running (still have one going, actually), but I’ve also heard people say that their circulation goes to pieces when they’re sleep-deprived. Anyone think this is worth further investigation? It did take me a while to warm up, and I had to put on a hoodie, which is completely unheard-of for me.

5 Responses to “Uberman Log, Day Three”

  1. Ren 24/07/2010 at 11:51 #

    About coldness & sleep deprivation…

    As a fellow space-heater, I can attest to the fact that I only ever seem to get cold when I start to get sick (it’s generally a good warning sign). Also, when I start to get sick, I get even less sleep than I normally do because, well, I feel too ill to fall asleep &/or stay asleep (to a degree that is worse than usual).

    Just thought I’d throw that litle tidbit out there.

    • a student 24/07/2010 at 12:41 #

      … Worth further investigation, then. I like your body; it seems to match mine pretty well. If you say that things could be wrong, then things could be wrong, and I shall look into them.

  2. saffronsilver 24/07/2010 at 20:12 #

    When I was exhausted this year, I noticed that the heat barely affected me. My whole family would be moaning about ninety degree temperatures & I’d be fine; this was quite unusual for me, since heat generally affects me a great deal.
    Perhaps, then, there’s truth in that idea.
    [Just so you know, I’ve been reading these uberman updates religiously. ^-^]

    • a student 24/07/2010 at 20:48 #

      Do you mean you were running a bit lower than other people so the heat didn’t really get to you?

      My reader count likes you a lot, then. 😛

      [Just so you know, I like you a lot too. <3]

  3. izziey 25/07/2010 at 15:21 #

    I always get cold when I’m tired.

Leave a Reply

