Uberman Update Four

29 Jul

I had the most vivid dream and my head is spinning. This has never happened to me before. I think it’d be more accurate to say that the contents of my head are spinning; spinning like something a little thinner than the consistency of stew… Anyway.

It was around the time I woke up from my 08:00 nap – 08:30, now – and looking about the way it did then. Violently dark. The sun that leered around the clouds was everything functional and nothing essential. There was no happiness in the way it shined and no benevolent feeling from the little warmth that reached down from the skies- just a pale light like a halogen bulb reaching its end.

Not much happened for a while. This was one of those dreams that so closely parallels real life that you don’t realise until you wake up that it wasn’t, so I was in my room for a while, passing time just like I do between naps.

There were three major events in the dream, all in quick succession- Starting with when I left my room and noticed that Aidan had set the shower on fire again* by staying in too long. There was smoke billowing out into the hallway from the bathroom that suddenly seemed a lot bigger than I remembered, and though I couldn’t see him, I knew Aidan was inside, trying to salvage what little he could.

As I proceeded down the hallway, the second event soon hit me. I was late for driving lessons! I looked out the window to check the weather and saw the third event. I remember shrugging and pulling on a coat, which will be hilariously funny when you know what the third event is. Anyway, for some reason, me taking driving lessons meant that I drove to the lessons, too. Which doesn’t make a whit of sense to me now.

As I was driving, I saw the third event on the horizon. There were actually two of them, the storm warning on the radio told us. Hurricanes. (Thinking back, this is actually the second time in the past few naps I’ve dreamed of tornados and hurricanes and twisters and that sort of thing.) I saw them both and was not worried in the slightest, though the car was being rocked and lifted off its wheels.

My alarm woke me before things went any further, but Id’ve liked to have been dreaming for a while longer; I had this feeling of longing that lingered for a couple of hours after I awoke. Anyway, there’s your taste of dreamland. Anyone else have any interesting dreams lately?

*This was apparently a very frequent event.

5 Responses to “Uberman Update Four”

  1. Ren 29/07/2010 at 15:24 #

    I had a dream that someone was distributing free pickles & that I got one (much to my dismay).

    I had another dream that I worked at an office (it was actually the Scranton branch of Dunder Mifflin from the show aptly named The Office). & Arty-chan worked there, too. She was Pam. & I think… Oscar was hitting on me, question mark? & I was all, “Sorry, I have a girlfriend.” But then I was confused because Arty-chan was Pam so she was married to Jim. Then somehow I ended up on a seventeenth-century boat & I was playing ring-around-the-rosy with a little girl who was apparently my sister (I had been adopted into her family). I was a swashbuckling young lad & I think that at some point I saved the ship by fighting off our attackers (they were from an enemy country & they had tried to board us).

    & I also had a dream that Arty-chan & I went to prom (I had to wear a dress &, eheh, I sort of had a panic attack).

    So… yeah. Those are the most recent dreams that I’ve had that I can remember. My brain is weird. ><

    • nonnie 29/07/2010 at 16:26 #

      You _are_ a swashbuckling young lad, m’dear.

      I had a recurring dream from ages four to eight, in which there were two boulders sitting on my feet and I had to pull a single hair from between them. There was a desert involved, too, with a single beacon of light shining across it, and the desert sand would always be the same color as whatever pillowcase I was sleeping with.

      And then there was the one a few months ago that I ate some “special” brownies without knowing what they were, and hallucinated a bright yellow anteater in my front yard. That was a fun one.

  2. Rachael 29/07/2010 at 21:24 #

    I had a dream last night that was pretty bizzare. A basic summary is that there was this bird thing and it was going to kill alot of people. And through many events I ended up killing it and everyone hated me after. The weird bit is that in the midst of the dream I had a momentary pause where I had a conversation with you actually about how I couldnt wake up from the dream even though I hated it becuase I need to know how it ended. And maybe it would turn out okay but if I stopped the dream I would just wake up and feel like shit.(you’ve showed up in some dreams I’ve had before which seems weird when I say it but anyways.)So yeah. Another dream you showed up was one wher I was a dude. Which wasnt exactly the focus of the dream but was sort of a neat aspect. The rest of the dream wasn’t something I feel like re counting. You were pretty much the only person who beleived me though, and was on my side about a thing in the dream so yay for you.
    Water shows up in alot of my dreams as do random creatures that get killed, usually by me. Mostly my dreams are upsetting.

  3. Piggy 29/07/2010 at 21:41 #

    Are you trying to get into lucid dreaming? It’s supposed to be fairly common in polyphasic sleep.

    • a student 29/07/2010 at 22:03 #

      Heya, Piggy. I’m not trying, no, but I am hoping. Dreams and I don’t usually get along, but I have been having them more frequently, lately… So I hope I have more success than I’m expecting.

Leave a Reply

